Hubert Burda Media

Asia’s 50 Best: Who Are Singapore’s Top?

At last night’s Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants 2014 awards, we find out who are Singapore’s game-changers in the Asian gastronomic scene

Amid all the glitz and glamour at the Capella Singapore yesterday, it was Singapore-based chef Andre Chiang who once again made his mark at the Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants 2014 awards, taking home the accolade for Chefs’ Choice Award.
To add to his growing list of awards and worldwide recognition, the Taiwanese-born chef’s well-loved restaurant also pocketed the title for Best in Singapore, taking a sixth overall position this year.
Another popular local name making waves in the industry is Janice Wong, the talented chef of 2am:dessertbar, and reigning queen of Asia’s pastry scene, who once again scored the coveted prize of Asia’s Best Pastry Chef for a second year running — clearly a sign that many continue to be blown away by her impressively innovative dessert creations.
Drawing the evening to a close was the announcement of Thailand’s Nahm as Asia’s Best Restaurant. Started by Australian-born chef David Thompson, the Bangkok-based restaurant took third last year but rose to the top this year, overtaking top contender, Tokyo’s Narisawa, which had to settle for second. Nahm’s Thai counterpart, Gaggan, rose seven places to take third.
A number of Singapore restaurants also made a name for themselves at the prestigious awards, including chef-owner Ryan Clift’s Tippling Club, which made its debut at 23rd this year.
Other familiar names from the local dining scene to make the cut include Waku Ghin (7th), Iggy’s (12th), Les Amis (14th), Jaan (17th), Shinji By Kanesaka (35th) and Imperial Treasure Super Peking Duck (40th).
Other names to watch in Asia include Lanshu Chen of Le Moût Restaurant in Taiwan, who grabbed the Veuve Clicquot Asia’s Best Female Chef 2014. Chinese chef Ivan Li of China’s Family Li Imperial Cuisine also took home the Diners Club Lifetime Achievement Award.
The Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants is sponsored by S Pellegrino and Acqua Panna, and organised by William Reed Business Media.
The full list of winners can be viewed here.